GMLscripts.com

Discuss and collaborate on GML scripts
Invert

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-08-02 12:57:00

Pixelated_Pope

Slide and Fade [Resolved! THANKS!]

Okay, so this is my first attempt at a real script... so be gentle, because I'm sure it looks like a total mess to you more experienced programmers.

Here's the idea.  You put the script in the step event of an object, and it will move towards a specific point.  As it slides between it's starting point and the destination, it fades from one alpha value to another.  I'm using gravity because it's a simple way to have the object accelerate as it slides which creates a nice effect. 

What I've got working so far: The object will slide in the proper direction and will fade from 0 to 1 or 1 to 0  (but the object's existing image_alpha value must already be equal to the starting value... so I'm not really sure why I include that as an argument at all.  Hey, I'll be the first one to admit that this thing needs a lot of help.

What I don't have working: The user can't specify any other alpha values besides 0 or 1... or, rather, they won't really work.  Also, if the alpha value to fade to is 1, the sprite will pop into it's final location after sliding past it for a frame.  And if you want to fade from 1 to 0, it will just keep sliding after it reaches it's destination.

So, it needs a lot of work, and I feel sort of stuck.  Here's the script:

Expand//moveFade(xend,yend,movespeed,alphastart,alphaend)
//place in the step event of the object you want to slide

xend=argument0
yend=argument1
movespeed=argument2
alphastart=argument3
alphaend=argument4

if (alphastart < alphaend && image_alpha >= alphaend) //If fading 0 to 1 (results in the object popping back into place messily)
{gravity=0; vspeed=0; hspeed=0; image_alpha=alphaend; x=xend; y=yend; exit;}
if (alphastart > alphaend && image_alpha <= alphaend) //if fading 1 to 0  (this doesn't work right now)